Farm County lost decades of experience in D.C. this week, when House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson lost his local race. The Minnesota Democrat fell to Republican Challenger Michelle Fischbach.


Peterson has led Democrats on the committee for the last three Farm Bills. So, who may take over as the Ag leader in the Democrat-controlled House?

“David Scott, Jim Costa and Marsha Fudge are the one, two, three, sitting currently on the Ag committee, this year’s Ag committee or this Congress’ Ag committee, behind Mr. Peterson,” said Dale Moore is the Executive Vice President of the American Farm Bureau Federation.

In a statement, Peterson said, “We ran a strong and positive campaign, but with the President winning this district by 30 points again, and the millions in outside money that was spent to attack me, the partisan tilt of this district was just too much to overcome."

Democrats retained control of the House but did lose a few seats, thinning the majority margin.

If you have a story idea for the PNW Ag Network, call (509) 547-1618, or e-mail

More From PNW Ag Network